United Way Committees

Committee Chair: Mark Ault, Alliance Bank
Responsible for oversight of financial auditing of UWGT to include interaction and communication with outside auditors.

Committee Chair: Todd Fleischer, Kansas Optometric Association
Responsible for overseeing the communication and marketing plan of UWGT.

Community Impact
Committee Chair: MaLaura Deeter, Payless
Responsible for oversight of the programmatic work of UWGT including reviewing resource allocations, advocacy platforms, and volunteer strategies.

Committee Chair: Bebo Lowery-Born
Responsible for providing assistance to the Board in fulfilling its legal and fiduciary obligations regarding accounting, financial reporting, internal control, investment and legal compliance.

Committee Chair: Gary Doyle
Responsible for AFL-CIO Community Service Conference and the United Way of Greater Topeka’s Labor Kickoff.

Resource Development
Committee Chair: Carol Wheeler
Responsible for oversight of diversified resource development and revenue generation plan, to include the following sub-committees:

  • Workplace Campaign
  • Grants
  • Major/Mega Gifts
  • Planned Giving/Endowment
  • Leadership Giving

Strategic Planning
Committee Chair: Rick Anderson, Washburn University
Responsible for developing and recommending the overall strategic direction for UWGT, including monitoring progress, reviewing results.

Volunteer Engagement
Committee Chair: Jennifer Findley
Responsible for the development and oversight of the volunteer engagement plan aligned with UWGT community and organizational goals and strategies.

Young Leaders Society
Committee Chair: Sara Shute, Capital Federal
Responsible for promoting and encouraging the spirit of philanthropy and volunteerism among young professionals.

If you’d like to be a part of one of these committees, please visit the Volunteer page and let us know!

The following Committees are currently in development.

Responsible for developing and monitoring the advocacy work of UWGT, including development of the annual policy agenda.

Responsible for establishing and maintaining the ethics program of the organization.

Women United*

Responsible for inspiring, educating and encouraging women to effect change in their community through philanthropy and leadership.

Also under development: Basic Needs, Disaster, Grants, Investment, Major & Mega Gifts, Retirees,  Volunteerism, Workplace Campaign